My garden

When I moved into this house I started a garden. The plan was to have a bunch of raised beds around a patio area. I managed to build four beds before the reality of gardening in North Carolina set in.

I planted some herbs in the raised beds, and made a little greenhouse to start some veggies really early.

Things were coming along nicely.

I added an arbour and a trellis to grow kiwi on… that didn’t go so well, every time I planted kiwi they died.

The herbs were doing great, but every summer the whole area around the beds would sprout weeds. Part of the problem was the gravel in the area that was to be my garden…oh, and they clay! I hate the clay. It makes proper weeding impossible, hence the raised beds. But between the clay, the gravel and the heat and humidity, most summers my lovely garden area would look like this:

Now I realize it’s kind of pretty, but it’s not what I was going for. Finally I’ve had enough! The boxes are all rotted out and completely unusable. So what does a sensible girl do when the gardening gets tough? Does she pack it all in and say that gardening in NC beat her? No, she hires someone to come in and get a grip on the situation. In one day I have this:

image

image

The old beds are gone, the area is graded, the path and patio measured off, AND he was going to build the new raised beds in his shop last night. Who knows what this will look like tomorrow, but I can actually see the beginnings of my plan coming together. I should have done this a long time ago.

What spurned me to action this year? When I joined Rug Hooking Daily, a woman from Newfoundland contacted me. I visited Anne’s blog and saw the pictures of her beautiful hooked rugs and of her garden and all the produce she puts buy for the winter. I really miss gardening and I’m going to have to give it another shot here in NC since I’ve decided to delay moving back to Canada for a couple more years.

Posted from WordPress for Android

Leave a Reply

