A Revolution in Genealogy

I’m a genealogist. I’m a gardener and a nurse too (Happy Nurses week!), but yesterday was all about genealogy. I spent the day adding ancestors to my database. All of a sudden it seems there are so many more free searchable databases online and there are more everyday. Familysearch.org has a huge indexing project going on that will take years to complete (https://www.familysearch.org/volunteer/indexing). Yesterday I found this one, http://www.lan-opc.org.uk/indexp.html , and it is incredible! The amount of work these volunteers have put into this is amazing.

Now, I don’t want people to get the idea you can simply go online and find a completed family tree (there is no such thing). I volunteer at the Family History Center, and believe me, I get people all the time who think they can walk in and I will go online and produce a pedigree on their ancestor named Smith or Jones or whatever!!!  It doesn’t work that way. I suppose shows like “Who do you think you are” don’t help… well they do help in that more people are interested in genealogy, but they don’t show all the hard work that goes into putting together a good, sound pedigree. Hours pouring over microfilm of parish registers, land records, probate records and (in the past) census schedules!

Which brings me to my point. While I spent a good part of the day going through the indexed baptisms, marriages and burials on the lan-OPC  site, I will spend MANY more hours going through the parish registers verifying the info I found yesterday! The reason I love all these new databases online is that it is soooooo much easier to go through the actual parish registers when I know what I am looking for, but you can’t take the info you find online in these databases as fact until you check out the actual records yourself.  I will take this list and verify each entry:

I love computer technology!!!

Leave a Reply

